Other Languages 


Our Scriptures are in forty languages, and include Bibles, New Testaments, Gospels, tracts, posters, bookmarks, cards, calendars and audio Scriptures.

Afrikaans is the majority language of portions of South Africa and Namibia.

Albanian is the official language of Albania and Kosovo.

Amharic is a Semitic language spoken in Ethiopia and Eritrea.

Spoken by some 280 million people, Arabic is the religious language of Islam. The 1865 Van Dyck is the standard Arabic Bible worldwide.

The eastern form of Armenian is the primary language of the Republic of Armenia, Nagorno-Karabakh and Georgia.

Catalan is spoken in the Catalunya region of Spain, as well as in Andorra and parts of France.

Dutch is spoken across the globe. The 1637 Statenvertaling is the Dutch counterpart to the English Authorised (King James) Version.

Sometimes called Persian, this is the primary language of Iran, and is spoken widely in Afghanistan, Tajikistan and Uzbekistan.

French is spoken worldwide either as a first language or a trade language. The Society is currently revising the 1872 Lausanne French Bible.

German boasts some 105 million native speakers. We publish the standard German Bible based on 1912-1998 Luther Bible, with minor corrections.

Our Greek Bible is the 19th century Bambas in Katharevousa, the literary Greek language of the time. See Koine Greek for the New Testament in Biblical Greek.

Hebrew is the language in which God inspired most of the Old Testament, and the national language of Israel.

One of the two official languages of India as well as Fiji, Hindi is the first language of nearly 500 million people.

Hungarian is spoken by 15 million people in eastern Europe. The Karoli Bible was originally translated in 1590, and ranks with the English Authorised (King James) Version as Reformation Scriptures.

Italian is spoken in Italy and throughout the world in immigrant communities. The 1641 Diodati Version still ranks as the standard Bible for many Italian Protestants.

The national language of Lithuania, some three million people worldwide speak Lithuanian.

Malayalam is the main language of the Kerala area of south-west India.

Maltese is the national language of Malta, as well as the only Semitic language amongst the official languages of the European Union.

One of the two official languages of Zimbabwe, Ndebele is spoken by over 1.5 million people.

Nepali, the lingua franca of Nepal, is also spoken by many in Bhutan and Burma and is one of the twenty-three official languages of India.

Polish is one of the official languages of the European Union. Our New Testament is a 19th-century revision of the Gdansk text by Count Wegierski.

Portuguese is spoken in such diverse places as Portugal and Brazil. Our Almeida Corrigida Fiel version is in Brazilian Portuguese, but understandable to Portuguese speakers worldwide.

Romanian is the main language of Romania and Moldova. Our Romanian Scriptures are a faithful translation the best Hebrew and Greek texts, with primary reference to the 1874 Iasi Bible (and to the popular Cornilescu Bible where it is accurate).

Russian is the main language of some 164 million people. The Synodal version is the standard Bible in Russian.

Serbian is the official language of Serbia, as well as being spoken in Bosnia and Herzegovina.

Long the standard Bible in Spanish, the Reformation-era Reina-Valera, revised in 1909, is currently undergoing revision to bring it into conformity to the modern Spanish language.

Tamil is the native language of 66 million people in south India, Sri Lanka and Singapore.

Spoken mainly in Turkey and Cyprus, Turkish is the main language of over 63 million people.

Ukrainian is the official language of Ukraine and Transnistria. The 1880s Kulisch Bible has long been the standard in this language.

Urdu is spoken by millions in Pakistan, India and Fiji, as well as in communities throughout the world.

In 1993 Welsh was established as one of the two official languages of Wales. In 1800 Mary Jones walked twenty-five miles to obtain a Bible in this language: the William Morgan Bible.

Xhosa is one of the official languages of South Africa and Lesotho, where nearly 8 million people speak the language.

Trinitarian Bible Society (U.S.A.), 927 Alpine Commerce Park, Suite 100, Grand Rapids, MI 49544, U.S.A. · Tel.: (616) 735-3695

U.S.A. Tax Exemption Number: 237365237

Facebook Icon Twitter Icon